Transparency.png

About Us

IMG_1806.JPG
 

MISSION

The Holter Museum inspires, connects, and heals our community through contemporary exhibitions and innovative arts programming.

The museum brings national and international exhibitions into the region, providing a much-needed venue for local and regional artists.  The Holter Museum of Art also collects and preserves regional artworks in its permanent collection.  The Holter is committed to promoting participation of diverse audiences through outreach, innovative educational programming, and collaboration with other organizations. 

history

The museum opened in 1987 offering a space to experience contemporary art in central Montana.  The museum has grown tremendously since its opening date, thanks to a successful capital campaign in 2002.  This campaign added 6,500 square feet to create a dynamic 17,000 square foot facility while also increasing our endowment. The facility is considered one of the finest in the state, and consists of five exhibition galleries, an education center, and a collections & research center.  Offering over twenty rotating exhibitions each year, art education for all ages, artist residencies, lectures, receptions, and more—the Holter is among the premier cultural centers in the region.

 

Staff

Sondra Hines, Curator of Education

(406) 442-6400 x10

Sondra@holtermuseum.org

Rosemary Howell, Associate Curator and Collection Manager

(406) 442-6400 x104

rosemary@holtermuseum.org or exhibitions@holtermuseum.org

Sarah Fehlig, Finance Director

(406) 442-6400 x106

SarahF@holtermuseum.org

Chris Riccardo, Executive Director

(406) 442-6400 x105

criccardo@holtermuseum.org

 

Catherine Askam, Development and Volunteer Relations

(406) 442-6400 x102

Catherine@holtermuseum.org

 Jules Schoebel, Museum Store Manager, Director of Membership,

and Event Rental Coordinator

(406) 442-6400 x101

jules@holtermuseum.org

David Spencer, Store Assistant

(406) 442-6400 x101

david@holtermuseum.org

 

 

 

 
 

The Board

Officers

Board President

Deb Halliday

halliday21@gmail.com

Vice President

Chris Noel

cndewald@gmail.com

Treasurer

Russell A. Cargo, Ph.D.

Consultant to Nonprofits

russcargo@gmail.com

Secretary

Kimberly Cook

High School Art Teacher

kcook@helenaschools.org

 

Board

Carla Potter

Ceramic artist

carla@carlampotter.com

 

Mary Ahmann Hibbard

Realtor, Windemere-Helena MT

mary@windemere.com

 

Dave Boggs

Anesthesiologist, St. Peter’s Hospital

dabogman@gmail.com

 

Tony Perpignano

CWG Architecture and Interiors

tonyp@cwg-architects.com

 

Amy Christensen, Esq

Attorney

amy@cplawmt.com

 

Nicki Goettel

Diamond Construction: Estimator/Project Manager

ngoettel@diamondconstruction.com

Sara Groves

Intrepid Credit Union

sgroves@intrepidcu.org

 

Corey Palmer

Blue Cross Blue Shield

coreytara@gmail.com